ABCs and Frozen Peas

Just another WordPress.com site

Foods that Terrified Me : Thai Edition!

on November 17, 2011

Last Friday, Scott and I returned from Bangkok, Thailand after about 2 weeks there. We were there for MinistryNet, a CCC conference. We also spend a few days afterwards to see the sites. We spent a lot of time with our friends, Steve and Cheryl.

It seemed that every 5 minutes that Cheryl was bumping into some sort “terrifying” Thai food. And since we were at a conference, we were around a LOT of food;-) She blogged about “Foods that Terrified Me” at thebrattonbunch.blogspot.com.

I thought that it would be fun to piggy back off of Cheryl’s post to add some additional photos of “terrifying food.” So, here it goes…

I have never seen a bag of chips this big, let alone a bag this big of SQUID chips!

Steve with JUMBO Squid Chips

We went to a festival with lots of food vendors. I called this one the “Survivor Booth.”

Crunchy Critters

I saw these chickens at another booth and thought that they must be fake, but our Thai tour liaison told me that there’s no way that these vendors would have fake food in their booths.

Real Chickens?

And here it is…. Durian! It’s just about as scary on the inside as it is on the outside. The yellow oval in the middle of the photos is the middle of the Durian. It seems to be a cross between a pineapple and a pumpkin texture-wise on the inside. I didnt taste any. I saw an advisory at the airport check-in about people wanting to take Durian on-board with them.

Stinky, Scary Durian

 Also, as Cheryl did, I’ll add a couple photos of fun Thai food:-)

Yummy Crepe

Ok, so maybe it’s not exactly Thai food, but I ate it a Thai mall, so that makes it Thai, right? 😉 And not only did it taste good, but the price was right– less than $3USD!

Healthy Cotton Candy?

So we thought that this was someone making pasta, but found out that this is cotton candy made from honey. Could it be??? Healthy cotton candy? 😉

And just in case anyone wants to see what happens if you try to feed Cheryl something that terrifies her….in other words just don’ do it! Love ya, Cheryl;-)

(sorry, Im too cheap to have an account where I can embed the video directly into the blog.


3 responses to “Foods that Terrified Me : Thai Edition!

  1. mitchellfam says:

    oh, cool, it worked! I just put a link to where I uploaded the video on YouTube and the video appeared!

  2. Cheryl says:

    That’s hilarious 🙂 I’ll have to link up to your post.

  3. Judy says:

    You girls are something else! So glad you are friends and get to have these experiences together. Meanwhile back at the ranch your moms are trying to navigate the scary world of trick or treat candy and food trucks.

Leave a comment